HOW TO BECOME A CERTIFIED AGENCY PROVIDER
Rules and Laws – the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities
"Rules and Laws" refers to the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) that governs how services are to be provided and carried out within the developmental disabilities system in Ohio. All independent providers, staff of agency providers, county boards and state department employees are subject to the requirements of these Rules and Laws. To read the Rules in effect please visit the DODD website at https://doddportal.dodd.ohio.gov/rules/ineffect/Pages/default.aspx.
CEO/Chief Executive Officer must have:
• Verification of at least one year of full-time, paid work experience in the provision of services to individuals with developmental disabilities which included responsibility for personnel matters, supervision of employees, program services, and financial management and
• A Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution or at least four years of full-time, paid work experience as a supervisor of programs or services for individuals with developmental disabilities.
POLICIES NEEDED TO ENSURE PROVIDER COMPLIANCE:
Internal monitoring and evaluating procedures to improve services delivered (internal review policy) Confidentiality of individuals’ records (5123:2-3-13)
Individuals’ satisfaction with services delivered Incident reporting and investigation (include procedure for investigating and reporting, which includes logs and contacting the MUI unit) (5123:2- 17-02)
Staff Training Plan (5123:2-13-04) Supervision of staff Principles of individuals’ self-determination Safeguarding individuals’ funds (5123:2-3-14)
Annual written notice to employees and contractors explaining the conduct for which someone may be placed on the Abuser Registry and setting forth the requirement to report if he/she is ever formally charged with , convicted of, or pleads guilty to any of the offenses listed in division (E) of section 5126.28 of the Ohio Revised Code; reporting must occur within 14 calendar days after date of such charge, conviction, or guilty plea and agreement shall include that failure to make the notification may result in termination of employment or contract.
Behaviors Support policy (if providing services to an individual with a Behavior Support Plan) (5123:2-1-02 [J] 1-4)
Transportation Policy (if providing transportation for the individual) (have in policy a statement that includes that the driver is at least 18 years of age) (5123:2-9-24)
ALSO NEEDED TO ENSURE PROVIDER COMPLIANCE: Documentation that meets requirements for waiver service documentation rule (pursuant to each service type) Statement included/outlined in a policy that employees who provide direct care with consumers are at least 18 years of age.
An agency provider must hire direct support staff before they can bill for services 5123:2-2-01 (B) NEEDED FOR ALL EMPLOYEES OF THE AGENCY:
Proof that employee providing direct care is 18 years of age or older (copy of birth certificate on file) Employer must require an applicant to complete an employment application and provide the names and addresses of present and former employers 5123:2-2-02 (16) (C) (a); and Employer must attempt to obtain references from the applicant’s present and former employers and maintain written evidence that reference checks MUI Unit were attempted and/or completed 5123:2-2-02 (16) (C) (b)
Proof that employee has been a resident of Ohio for at least 5 years prior to the date upon which the criminal records check is requested, an FBI as well as a BCII must be completed if proof is not provided BCII checks completed at time of hire and at least every 5 years thereafter 5123:2-2-02 (C) (7) (8) (BCII fingerprint cards must include the Statute code #5123.081 as to the reason providers are requesting to be fingerprinted. #5126.28 for FBI ); and The following databases must be checked by employer prior to hire and at least every 5 years thereafter (a responsible entity shall not employ an applicant or continue to employ and employee if the applicant or employee is included in one or more of the following databases 5123:2-2-02 (3):
• Office of Inspector General in the US Dept. of Health and Human Services (see Rule 5123:2-2-02 (16 C) (2) (a) • Abuser Registry (b)
• Nurse Aid Registry (c) • Sex Offender and Child-Victim Offender Database (d)
• The United States General Services Administration System for Award Management Database (e)
• The Database of Incarcerated and Supervised Offenders (f) Signed pre-employment statement indicating the employee has not been convicted of or plead guilty to any disqualifying offenses Signed pre-employment agreement indicating that the employee will notify employer if they are formally charged with, convicted of or plead guilty to an disqualifying offenses; reporting must occur within 14 calendar days after date of such charge, conviction, or guilty plea and agreement shall include that failure to make the notification may result in termination of employment or contract.
Annual written notice to employees (per policy) Proof of automobile insurance (if providing transportation) A Certified Driver’s Abstract from the registrar of motor vehicles (if providing transportation) prior to providing transportation support and then every 3 years thereafter (no employee can provide transportation support if he/she has 6 or more points on driver’s license) Valid Driver’s license (if providing transportation) Evidence of how the employee will notify employer if his/her driver’s license is revoked or suspended if this occurs
Written evidence that the employee has received annual notice from the employer regarding conduct for which an employee may be included in the abuser registry Overview Training (prior to working with individuals with DD) Intro to DD Training (prior to working with individuals.
Evidence of Behavior Supports training completed if staff person works with an individual with a BSP (training specific to individual employee is working with and prior to implementation)
Evidence of Medication Administration/Performance of Health Care Tasks Completed within the first year after provider begins billing for provision of services and no later than every 5 years thereafter completed training (prior to dispensing medication)
Individual Needs (ISP) training specific to the consumer and prior to implementation of the ISP Evidence of current CPR certification Evidence of current First Aid certification (if providing transportation supports)
Initial MUI training at time of hire Annual MUI training thereafter Initial “Residential Rights” training at time of hire Annual Rights training thereafter Annual training in Roles in Providing Behavior Supports (LCBDD’s Specialized Supports)
Annual training in Positive Intervention Culture Annual training in Self-determination.
The following is recommended/encouraged: Initial training in fire and emergency response (staff should have knowledge of how to respond in emergencies (i.e. fire and severe weather) to assist the individuals they serve and maintain their health & safety in the setting in which they provide services) Annual training in fire and emergency response (staff should have knowledge of how to respond in emergencies (i.e. fire and severe weather) to assist the individuals they serve and maintain their health & safety in the setting in which they provide services). Create a training program to provide training for your staff.
PROVIDER COMPLIANCE REVIEW: Review will be conducted to ensure all areas of compliance are completed Website: www.dodd.ohio.gov To subscribe to Rule updates: Go to “Rules” then “Overview” Also To subscribe to Health & Safety Alerts: Go to “Health & Welfare” then “Health & Welfare Alerts”
This is the Provider Certification rule, Chapter 5123:2-2 Provider Standards 5123:2-2-01 Provider certification Agency providers shall provide to the department written policies and procedures that address the agency's management practices in the following areas:
(a) Principles of individuals' self-determination;
(b) Confidentiality of individuals' records;
(c) Safeguarding individuals' funds;
(d) Incident reporting and investigation;
(e) Individuals' satisfaction with services delivered;
(f) Internal monitoring and evaluating procedures to improve services delivered;
(g) Supervision of staff;
(h) Staff training plan; and
(i) Annual written notice to each of its employees and contractors explaining the conduct for which the employee or contractor or the contractor's employees may be placed on the abuser registry and setting forth the requirement for each employee, contractor, and employee of a contractor who is engaged in a direct services position to report in writing to the agency provider, if he/she is every formally charged with, convicted of, or pleads guilty to any of the offenses listed in division (E) of section 5126.28 of the Revised Code within fourteen calendar days after the date of such charge, conviction, or guilty plea.
In preparation for proposed changes to the Provider Certification Rule, 5123:2-2-01 (projected to take effect September 1, 2015) DODD has made a web-based pre-certification orientation available.
An online orientation will also be made available to provider agency CEO's hired after the date in which the proposed rule would take effect.Each orientation is takes approximately 20 minutes.
Verification of Age: All provider applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
High School Diploma/GED
State Identification Card: Valid Driver’s License or other government issued photo.
Social Security Card: A copy is required to be submitted with our application.
Current report from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII).
Certification from the Secretary of State: Verifying your agency.
Letter from IRS: verifying your Tax ID Number.
Bachelor’s Degree: From an accredited university or college (or 4 years of experience in the field of Developmental Disabilities in lieu of a degree).
Proof of Experience: One year of paid, full-time work experience in the provision of services to individuals with Developmental Disabilities in the areas of supervision of staff; personnel matters; financial management, and supervision of services.
Trainings: Evidence of 8 hours is required. Evidence of MUI/Client Rights Training. Agencies are required to have a valid Red Cross or equivalent certification in First Aid and CPR. Individual Rights, Universal Precautions, overview of providing waiver services and overview of serving individual with development disabilities, positive culture initiative and self-determination. Universal precautions for infection control. Valid CPR/First Aid, background check.
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS: May be scanned and uploaded in the online application. Evidence of required trainings, BCII background check results, copy of Social Security card, copy of Bachelor‘s Degree, copy of driver's license, and auto insurance (if you are applying to provide transportation services). Other documents may be required depending on the services the applicant is applying to provide.
Provider certification is managed by the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD), however the Union County Board of DD can assist those starting the certification process by offering training and technical assistance.
An agency provider is an entity that employs a person for the purpose of providing services to individuals with developmental disabilities.
Having the following documents accessible will be helpful to agency providers preparing to apply for initial certification:
- Verification of age: All provider applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
- High School Diploma/GED: Except for persons who held provider certification or who were employed by a certified agency provider on September 30, 2009.
- State Identification: Valid driver’s license or other government-issued photo identification
- Social Security Card: A copy is required to be submitted with your application
Current report from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII). All providers must have an Ohio BCI background check.
Providers who have NOT lived in Ohio for the past 5 or more years, must ALSO have a Federal FBI background check. Background checks may be completed by the UCBDD, call HR at 645- 6704 to schedule an appointment.
In order to obtain a background check from UCBDD you must:
- Bring your driver's license or state ID.
- Bring verification of your social security number. (Your social security card, W2s or 1099) are acceptable forms of documentation.
Background checks cannot be completed without proper documentation.
If you are having your fingerprints taken for the purpose of initial or renewal certification for I/O, Level 1, TDD or SELF Waiver services; your BCI report MUST be sent directly to the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities at the following address:
Ohio Department of
ATTN: Provider Certification
30 E Broad Street, 13th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
- Letter from the IRS verifying your Tax Identification Number.
- Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited university or college. Four years of experience in the field of developmental disabilities can be used in lieu of a degree.
- Proof of experience. One year of paid, full-time work experience in the provision of services to individuals with developmental disabilities in the areas of supervision of staff; personnel matters; financial management.
Bring your driver's license or state ID.
- Bring verification of your social security number. (Your social security card, W2s or 1099) are acceptable forms of documentation.
Valid American Red Cross or equivalent certification in CPR/ First Aid. In addition to these topics, a Provider must also hold a current certification in CPR and First Aid. We offer classes at UCBDD for $19.00 for refresher and $27.00 you can schedule these with Michelle Farley at 645-6753. Online classes are not accepted. To find other classes http://www.redcross.org/ux/take-a-class
- Copy of your Social Security card.
- Evidence of MUI (Major Unusual Incident) and Client Rights training.
Obtain/Complete Certification Requirements
In order to do this you will need a computer, and printer. A scanner will also be helpful in order to scan and upload your documents, however these may also be sent via US mail or fax. Paper applications are no longer being accepted by DODD.
Step 2 - Submit your application for certification online
Once you have obtained/completed the certification requirements, you must submit your certification application through the DODD website at www.dodd.ohio.gov and supervision of services.
Step 3 -Once you submitted your application on-line, DODD will respond to you within 45 days. DODD will communicate directly with you, not the county board. You will receive both "initial" and "final" approval notices via e-mail. Be sure to forward your final approval notice to our Lori LaCella at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Providers who hold a contract for locally-funded services have the opportunity to advertise on the UCBDD website. This is a free opportunity for you to showcase your skills and the services you provide. We have a provider profile form that we will need completed: provider profile form.
Agencies are required to renew their certification online through the Provider Certification Wizard and must be able to show evidence of the following for each employee during future compliance reviews, as applicable to 5123:2-2-01:
To begin the re-certification process, log in to the Provider Certification Wizard.